Skip to content
AlternativeMed

Bone Health

Which peptides have real evidence for bone health: two approved osteoporosis medicines with fracture trials, and promoted peptides that so far have only animal data.

Content last updated . This page has not been medically reviewed.

Quick answer
For bone health, the picture is lopsided. Two prescription peptide medicines, teriparatide and abaloparatide, have large trials that counted real fractures. Peptides sold online for "bone healing" have no human fracture trials in the sources checked for this page. Peptides are not one treatment category, so this page keeps the two groups apart.

Evidence labels used here. Approved medicine means a regulator has approved it for a named use. Promising but limited means some human data exist but they are small or indirect. Preclinical means cells or animals only. Proper evidence not found means we looked and found nothing usable. Higher bone density on a scan is a biomarker (a stand-in measurement). A prevented fracture is a clinical outcome (something a person feels).

This is information only. It is not advice about starting, stopping or changing a bone medicine. That decision belongs with a prescriber. For lifestyle, nutrition and general context, see Osteoporosis and Bone Health.

Promoted peptides: what exists for bone

BPC-157 (a lab-made piece of a stomach protein). One 1999 study in rabbits with a surgically made radius bone gap compared BPC-157 given into the gap or by muscle injection with bone marrow and bone grafts, with saline controls. [9] More animals healed the gap with BPC-157. The authors called for further investigation. [9] This is preclinical. It does not show that the same effect occurs in people, and the abstract does not report safety in humans.

Other promoted peptides. A PubMed check for BPC-157 or thymosin beta-4 together with bone or osteoporosis found no human fracture trial. Proper evidence not found for human bone outcomes. Product names may not match the molecule in a paper; see Research Peptide Naming and Identity Problems.

Why this matters

A peptide that works in a rabbit bone gap is not an osteoporosis treatment. A scan showing denser bone is not the same as fewer fractures. And two approved bone-building peptides do not mean the whole peptide field is effective for bone. For how to weigh a clinic's claim, see How to Evaluate Peptide Claims and Clinic Marketing.

Frequently asked questions

Do peptides help bones?

Two approved prescription peptides, teriparatide and abaloparatide, reduced fractures in trials in postmenopausal women. [4][2] Peptides marketed online for bone have only animal data in the sources checked. [9]

Is BPC-157 proven for bone or fracture healing?

No. The bone study found was in rabbits, in 1999, and it called for further research. [9]

Do teriparatide and abaloparatide cause cancer?

Rats given them developed osteosarcoma. The labels say observational human studies have not shown an increased risk, and data past two years are limited. [1][2]

Is higher bone density the same as fewer fractures?

No. Bone density is a measurement; fractures are the outcome that matters to people. The men's trial reported density, not fractures. [7]

Should I change my bone medicine?

This page cannot advise that. Talk with your prescriber.

More details: evidence, limits and cautions

The details behind this page: cautions, limits of the evidence and where sources disagree. Open any note to read it.

Approved medicines: what the labels say
Teriparatide is a parathyroid hormone analog (PTH 1-34). [1] In the US the label lists use in postmenopausal women with osteoporosis at high fracture risk, and also in men (primary or hypogonadal osteoporosis). [1] Abaloparatide is modeled on a related natural molecule, parathyroid-hormone-related peptide. [2] In the European Union, the regulator's page for the abaloparatide product (Eladynos) lists postmenopausal women with osteoporosis. [3] Details of each label are on Bone and Mineral Regulation Peptide Medicines.
Evidence at a glance: approved medicines
TrialMolecule and comparisonPeople, size, lengthMain resultFunding and limits
Neer 2001, randomized, placebo-controlledTeriparatide versus placebo1,637 postmenopausal women with earlier spine fractures; median follow-up 21 months [4]New spine fractures in 14% on placebo and 4 to 5% on teriparatide; new non-spine fragility fractures about 6% versus 3% [4]Funder not stated in the abstract read. Only women with prior fractures.
ACTIVE 2016, randomized, double-blindAbaloparatide versus placebo, with an open-label teriparatide group (818 people)2,463 postmenopausal women; 18 months [5]Spine fractures 0.6% versus 4.2% on placebo (from the FDA label) [2]. High calcium in blood was less common with abaloparatide (3.4%) than teriparatide (6.4%). [5]Several authors work for the maker, Radius Health. [5] The teriparatide arm was not blinded.
VERO 2018, double-blind head-to-headTeriparatide versus the oral bisphosphonate risedronate680 women per group, severe osteoporosis; 24 months [6]New spine fractures 5.4% versus 12.0%; non-spine fragility fractures 4.0% versus 6.1%, a difference not statistically significant [6]Funded by Lilly, the teriparatide maker. [6]
ATOM 2022, randomizedAbaloparatide versus placebo in men228 men (149 versus 79); 12 months [7]Spine bone density rose about 8.5% versus 1.2% on placebo. This is a biomarker result, not a fracture count. [7]The abstract carries a Radius Health copyright notice; funding is not otherwise stated in it. [7] Common side effects included injection-site reactions, dizziness and joint pain.

Plain reading: these are approved medicine results for specific groups. Three of the four are tied to the makers (the fourth did not state funding in the abstract read), which is common for drug approval but worth knowing. No trial in this table pits abaloparatide directly against teriparatide on fractures.

Safety for the approved pair
Both labels carry a warning about osteosarcoma (a bone cancer): rats developed it, but the labels say observational human studies have not shown increased risk, and data beyond two years are limited. [1] In a 15-year US surveillance study, 1,173 interviewed osteosarcoma patients included three who had used teriparatide, against about four expected from background rates. [8] The Tymlos label advises against use beyond two years over a lifetime. [2] Both labels list people to avoid, including open growth plates and earlier skeletal radiation. [1][2]
References
Education, not medical advice. This page is for general information. It does not diagnose or treat any condition and is not a substitute for care from a qualified health professional. Natural does not automatically mean safe. Ask a clinician or pharmacist before changing your care, especially if you take medication, are pregnant or breastfeeding, or have a health condition.