Evaluating Clinic Claims
A plain checklist for reading psychedelic and ketamine clinic claims, with what studies of clinic advertising found and what FDA says about approved and unapproved products.
Content last updated . This page has not been medically reviewed.
What this page is for
Clinics that offer ketamine or other psychedelic-related treatments describe themselves in many ways. This page helps you read those descriptions. It does not list, rate or recommend clinics, and it does not tell anyone to start, stop or change a medicine. Talk with your own prescriber about that: talking with a health professional.Evidence labels: approved medicine (a regulator has approved it for a stated use), mixed, insufficient evidence and marketing claim (a statement made to attract clients, not shown by the sources read).
Start with what is actually being offered
Three different things are often described with similar words.| Offer | What to check | What we read |
|---|---|---|
| An approved medicine used as labeled | The product and the use on its label | The US esketamine nasal spray label lists treatment-resistant depression in adults (alone or with an oral antidepressant), and depressive symptoms in adults with major depressive disorder and acute suicidal thoughts or behavior (with an oral antidepressant). [1] The label requires patients to be monitored for at least 2 hours at each session and healthcare settings to be certified. [1] |
| An approved medicine used for another purpose (off-label) | Whether the clinic says plainly that it is off-label | In a Maryland review of 17 ketamine advertisers, 10 did not disclose that their services were off-label. [2] |
| An unapproved or compounded product | Whether the clinic says it is unapproved | FDA has said unapproved ketamine products carry significant risks, especially without appropriate medical supervision, and that unapproved new drugs do not carry the same assurances of safety and effectiveness. [3] |
Ketamine and esketamine are different drugs; see ketamine and esketamine. For psilocybin, MDMA and similar substances, see what is and is not medically approved.
What studies of clinic advertising found
These studies looked at websites, not at the care itself, so they show how clinics talk, not whether treatment was good or bad.- Maryland, 17 ketamine advertisers. Seven did not disclose adverse effects or misuse risk, three falsely described ketamine as nonaddictive, and ten did not disclose off-label use. [2]
- Ontario, Canada, 10 clinic websites. They advertised psychedelics for 47 medical conditions, most commonly depression. Only 2 of 10 described risks, and the cited evidence was of low to moderate quality. [4]
- New York area, 233 clinics. 36.5% prescribed ketamine for at-home use. The authors note they looked only at public-facing websites. [5]
- Telehealth. A 2026 article describes off-label ketamine increasingly marketed online and delivered at home, and says responsibility for patient safety rests heavily on clinicians given limited oversight of many platforms. [6]
Each study covers one region and one time. They do not show every clinic behaves this way.
A claims checklist
Questions to ask, and what a good answer looks like, based on the findings above.- Which product, and is it approved for this use? A clear answer names the product and whether the use is on the label or off-label. Unclear answers are a warning sign.
- What evidence supports it for my condition? A claim for "47 conditions" is not the same as trial evidence for one. See how to read a psychedelic trial.
- Are risks stated? A clinic that says a drug is "nonaddictive" or "safe" with no discussion of risks is making a marketing claim.
- Who supervises, and where? Check who is present during and after treatment, and what monitoring is described. Compare with clinical monitoring.
- Who is the prescriber, and are credentials stated? See therapist and practitioner qualifications.
- What screening comes first? In an Oregon study of licensed psilocybin service centers, callers posing as people with depression reached 15 of 22 centers, none of which allowed unsupervised use or immediate dosing without psychiatric assessment. [7] That is one state and one model, not a standard everywhere. See screening and eligibility.
- What does it say about aftercare and problems? See follow-up and ongoing care.
Statements that deserve a second look
- "Proven," "cure," or "works for everything": no source we read supports this.
- Therapy added on top of a drug: FDA says the contribution of the psychotherapy part to any benefit has not been characterized. [8]
- Pressure to decide quickly, or to stop other treatment, which is a matter for your prescriber.
If you have had a problem
Safety reports and complaint routes are on vulnerability, suggestibility and misconduct. In the US, call 988 for emotional crisis or 911 for an emergency.Frequently asked questions
Is ketamine therapy at a clinic FDA approved?
Esketamine and ketamine are distinct drugs with different regulatory requirements. [2] The approved esketamine nasal spray carries monitoring and certified-setting requirements. [1] An FDA warning letter refers to unapproved ketamine drugs for which the approved version is an injectable or subject to a REMS safety program. [3] Ask any clinic exactly which product and use it means.
Is at-home ketamine the same as clinic treatment?
Not necessarily. A New York review found 36.5% of clinics advertised ketamine for at-home use. [5] The esketamine label, by contrast, requires monitoring in a certified setting. [1]
Can I trust clinic websites for risk information?
Studies found many omit it: only 2 of 10 Ontario clinic sites described risks. [4]
Does this page recommend any clinic?
No. It has no listings or rankings.
References
- SPRAVATO (esketamine) nasal spray prescribing information, 2025 label (FDA). Read 2026-10-22.
- False or Misleading Claims in Online Direct-to-Consumer Ketamine Advertising in Maryland (JAMA Network Open, 2023). Read 2026-10-22.
- FDA warning letter to an online ketamine seller, June 2026 (FDA). Read 2026-10-22.
- Critical appraisal of evidence supporting prescription of psychedelics from clinic websites in Ontario, Canada (PLOS ONE, 2024). Read 2026-10-22.
- Monitoring of Clinics That Use Direct-to-Consumer Advertising for Off-Label Ketamine in the New York Metropolitan Area (Fundamental & Clinical Pharmacology, 2026). Read 2026-10-22.
- When Off-Label Ketamine Meets Direct-to-Consumer Telehealth: Liability Risks and Ethical Responsibilities (Psychiatric Services, 2026). Read 2026-10-22.
- "Am I a candidate for magic mushrooms?" A mystery shopper study of Oregon psilocybin service centers (Health Affairs Scholar, 2026). Read 2026-10-22.
- Psychedelic Drugs: Considerations for Clinical Investigations (FDA guidance for industry). Read 2026-10-22.