Wound Healing
Evidence on peptides for wound healing: topical thymosin beta-4 in ulcer trials, GHK-Cu's mostly preclinical record, no human studies of TB-500, and when to see a clinician.
Content last updated . This page has not been medically reviewed.
Which molecule is which
- Thymosin beta-4 is a natural 43-amino-acid peptide. The ulcer trials below used a synthetic copy of it, applied to the skin. [1]
- TB-500 is, per the FDA review, a synthetic seven-amino-acid fragment (LKKTETQ) of thymosin beta-4. It is not the same molecule as the product tested in the ulcer trials. [2] See TB-500 and thymosin beta-4.
- GHK-Cu is the copper-bound form of a three-amino-acid human peptide. [3] See the GHK-Cu page and the cosmetic peptide families in signal, carrier and copper peptides.
Evidence, one pairing at a time
| Pairing | Population and design | Size, comparator, length | Outcome vs biomarker | Adverse events and limits | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Topical thymosin beta-4 (synthetic) vs placebo, venous stasis leg ulcers | Phase 2, double-blind, placebo-controlled, dose-escalation; 8 sites in Italy and Poland [1] | 73 randomized patients; placebo comparator; healing assessed within 3 months [1] | Clinical outcome: complete healing within 3 months in about 25% of patients, mostly those with small to moderate wounds; one dose "may have the potential" to speed healing [1] | Safety judged acceptable and comparable to placebo; phase 2 efficacy findings are preliminary [1] | Not stated in abstract |
| Thymosin beta-4 in stasis and pressure ulcers (review of two phase 2 trials) | Review article of animal models plus two phase 2 trials [4] | Trial sizes not given in the abstract [4] | Healing accelerated by almost a month in patients who healed, according to the review [4] | Review, not a new trial; applies to those who healed [4] | Not stated in abstract |
| TB-500 | FDA search of PubMed, Embase and ClinicalTrials.gov for the 2026 briefing [2] | No human studies identified [2] | Proper evidence not found | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| GHK-Cu | Systematic review, 64 records kept from 1,247 searched, 2005 to 2026 [3] | Human trials mostly small, on facial cosmetic creams [3] | Strong cell and animal data; human wound trials thin [3] | About 35% of the primary literature involved the original isolator's group, limiting independence [3] | Review funding not read |
The review authors for GHK-Cu called for adequately powered human trials, saying a microneedle delivery route had not been tested in a registered, adequately powered, published human randomized trial. [3] On injectable GHK-Cu the FDA says there are limited data in humans, and lists immunogenicity concerns for compounded injectables. [5]
Evidence labels, put plainly
- Topical thymosin beta-4 for venous leg ulcers: promising but limited (phase 2 only, one product).
- TB-500 for wound healing in people: proper evidence not found.
- GHK-Cu for wound healing in people: insufficient evidence from the review read; preclinical for most mechanisms.
- Injected peptides marketed for "joint and wound healing support": marketing claim.
What the FDA reviewed in 2026
For a July 23-24, 2026 advisory committee, the FDA listed wound healing as the use it reviewed for TB-500 and for KPV, another promoted peptide. [6] In the TB-500 briefing, the agency said it did not identify clinical studies of TB-500 in humans and that wounds can be serious or life-threatening. [2] The committee's outcome and any final decision were not read. Compounding is not approval, and online availability does not mean a product is legal or safe. See regulatory warning letters and alerts.Frequently asked questions
Does thymosin beta-4 heal wounds?
In a phase 2 trial of 73 patients with venous leg ulcers, topical synthetic thymosin beta-4 was safe compared with placebo and might speed healing at one concentration. [1] That is early evidence for one product, not proof, and not about injected TB-500.
Is TB-500 the same as the thymosin beta-4 used in those trials?
No. The FDA review describes TB-500 as a seven-amino-acid fragment, while thymosin beta-4 has 43 amino acids. [2]
Does GHK-Cu heal wounds in people?
The systematic review we read found strong preclinical data and thin human data, and called for better trials. [3]
Are any of these approved for wounds?
Not in the sources we read. We did not check every country.
When should a wound be seen by a doctor?
When it is not healing, is getting worse, or shows signs of infection. See the linked Wellness guide. This page does not give wound care instructions.
More details: evidence, limits and cautions
The details behind this page: cautions, limits of the evidence and where sources disagree. Open any note to read it.
How to read the evidence labels
Labels used on this page: approved medicine (regulator and use named), promising but limited, mixed, insufficient evidence, preclinical (cells or animals only), marketing claim, and proper evidence not found.
Safety and care
References
- Guarnera G, De Rosa A, Camerini R. The effect of thymosin treatment of venous ulcers. Ann N Y Acad Sci 2010;1194:207-212. Read 2026-10-22.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA Briefing Document: TB-500-related bulk drug substances (TB-500 free base and TB-500 acetate), Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, July 23-24, 2026. Read 2026-10-22.
- Najafi N, Maatouk H, Vardanyan KG, et al. A Systematic Review of the Mechanisms and Therapeutic Applications of GHK-Cu in Topical Microneedle Delivery: A Case for Expanded Clinical Trials. Arch Intern Med Res 2026;9:269-293. Read 2026-10-22.
- Treadwell T, Kleinman HK, Crockford D, et al. The regenerative peptide thymosin β4 accelerates the rate of dermal healing in preclinical animal models and in patients. Ann N Y Acad Sci 2012;1270:37-44. Read 2026-10-22.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks (content current as of 04/22/2026). Read 2026-10-22.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. July 23-24, 2026: Meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee (meeting announcement and agenda; outcome not read). Read 2026-10-22.